Clubs

2019 - 2020 Student Clubs

A Few Good Men

Faculty Sponsor: Shad Martin

Email: shadrach_martin@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets:

Location:

Art Club / National Art Honor Society

Faculty Sponsor: Adam Szafranski

Email: aszafranski@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets:

Location: E 127

Animation Club

Faculty Sponsor: Megan Van Hoy

Email: megan_vanhoy@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets: Every other Thursday, 3:15 - 4:00

Location: Media Center

Battle of the Books

Faculty Sponsor: Megan Van Hoy
 

Email: megan_vanhoy@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets:

Location:

Beta Club

Faculty Sponsor: 

Email: 

Meets:

Location:

Black History Club

Faculty Sponsor:  Trena Fletcher

Email: trena_fletcher@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets:

Location:

Debate Club

Faculty Sponsor:  Ryan Earnhardt

Email: ryan_earnhardt@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets:

Location:

FBLA - Future Business Leaders of America

Faculty Sponsor:  Brooke Campbell

Email:  brcampbell@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets: Once a month

Location: A225

FCA - Fellowship of Christian Athletes

Faculty Sponsor: Andrew Collins

Email: andrew_collins@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets: Every Friday

Location: B202

Fi-Y

Faculty Sponsor: Cheryl Klaft 

Email: cklaft@iss.k12.nc.us 

FFA - Future Farmers of America

Faculty Sponsors: Harrison Jenkins and Ethan Holland

Email: harrison_jenkins@iss.k12.nc.us 

Email: ethan_holland@iss.k12.nc.us

HOSA - Health Occupations Students of America

Faculty Sponsor: Lacie Howard

Email: lacie_howard@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets: Third Tuesday every month

Location:  B233

HOSA is an international student organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Health Science Education (HSE) Division of ACTE. 

HOSA provides a unique program of leadership development, motivation, and recognition exclusively for secondary, postsecondary, adult, and collegiate students enrolled in health science education and biomedical science programs or have interests in pursuing careers in health professions. HOSA is 100% health care! The rapidly changing health care system needs dedicated workers who, in addition to their technical skills, are people-oriented and capable of playing a leadership or followership role as a member of a healthcare team.

HOSA's mission is especially critical when considering the acute shortage of qualified workers for the healthcare industry. It is essential that the HSE-HOSA Partnership maintain its momentum and encourage all HSE instructors to integrate HOSA into their curriculum and classrooms.

Activities:

-Hosting & organizing 3 blood drives a year at Statesville High School.

-Visiting & volunteering at:

-Nursing homes

-Soup kitchen

-Coat drives 

-Book drives

-Canned food drives

-March of dimes

-Field trips & competitions.

 

HOSA assists members to:

·         Develop effective leadership qualities and skills

·         Build self-confidence, motivation and enthusiasm

·         Strengthen their academic and technical skills 

·         Create friendships and social networks

·         Participate in community service activities

·         Set realistic career and educational goals

·         Expand communication and teamwork skills

·         Develop workplace readiness skills

·         Understand current healthcare issues

 

HOSA members have opportunities to:

·         Celebrate competitive events program accomplishments 

·         Apply for HOSA scholarships and recognitions

·         Travel to regional, state, and national conferences

·         Serve as local, regional, state, and national officers

·         Build their resume

·         Collaborate with health professionals and future employers

·         Seek internships in the Office of the Surgeon General and others

Interact

Faculty Sponsor: Tawania Keitt

Email: tawania_keitt@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets:

Location: B 234

Minecraft Club

Faculty Sponsor:  Megan Van Hoy

Email: megan_vanhoy@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets: Tuesdays or Wednesday 3:15 - 4:00

Location: Media Center

Student Council

Faculty Sponsors: Tracy Lominac and Liz DeGraff

Email: tracy_lominac@iss.k12.nc.us

Email: elizabeth_hardig-degraf@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets: First Wednesday of each month at 7:45 am

Location: B 212

UFC - Unify for Change

Faculty Sponsor: Shelly Bailey-Hancock

Email: sbaileyhancock@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets:

Location:

Wise Guys

Faculty Sponsor: Ketwan Graham

Email: ketwan_graham@iss.k12.nc.us

Meets:

Location: